Iowa JNC

Judicial Nominating Commission begins process to select nominees for Iowa Court of Appeals

Des Moines, September 16, 2019— The State Judicial Nominating Commission, which is responsible for selecting nominees for appointment to the Iowa Court of Appeals, announced today it will begin accepting applications for the vacancy that will occur when Judge Amanda Potterfield retires December 25, 2019. The Commission received notice of the vacancy from Governor Reynolds on September 3, 2019.  The Commission has sixty days to send a slate of nominees to the Governor, who makes appointments to the court.   

The deadline for applications to be received by the Commission and the Commissioners to be considered for balloting is 11:59 p.m. on Friday, October 11, 2019. Any citizen may submit in writing to the Secretary of the Commission, or to any Commissioner via email at the email addresses listed on the State Judicial Nominating Commission website and also listed below, the names of persons for consideration as a candidate for nomination and express views concerning such candidate.  For comments regarding an applicant to be considered by the Commission, communications from the public must be received by the Commissioners via email by 11:59 P.M. on Friday, October 25, 2019.  Comments regarding an applicant made for previous vacancies will not be considered by the Commission.   Applications can be obtained on the State Judicial Nominating Commission website at the website address listed above or from the State Court Administrator at 1111 E. Court Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50319. 

Once the application time has run, the Commission will release the names of all applicants along with information about each applicant's background, experience, and qualifications.   This list and other information about the Commission and Iowa's merit selection process will be available on the Iowa Judicial Branch website.

The Commission plans to meet Tuesday, October 29, 2019 and Wednesday, October 30, 2019, to interview applicants and select three nominees to submit to the Governor for appointment. The meeting will be in the Supreme Court Courtroom in the Judicial Branch Building, 1111 East Court Avenue, Des Moines. The interview portion of the meeting is open to the public and will be streamed live and archived on the Iowa Judicial Branch YouTube channel

The 17-member Commission is composed of eight commissioners elected by lawyers licensed to practice law in Iowa and nine commissioners appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Iowa Senate. 

Important Notice to Applicants: To be eligible for appointment to the court, a person must be a resident of Iowa, licensed to practice law in Iowa, and must be of such age that he or she will be able to serve an initial and one regular term of office before reaching the age of 72. To be considered for balloting, an applicant must email his or her application and supporting materials to the Commission via email to sjnc@iowa.gov and to each member of the Commission at the email addresses listed below so that the application and supporting materials are received by the Commission and Commissioners by 11:59 P.M. on Friday October 11, 2019. The candidates for nomination must email to the Commission and all Commissioners a PDF version of the completed Application forms and a PDF version of any writing samples and other attachments to the Application.   

The names and email addresses of the State Judicial Nominating Commission members are:

Chairperson
Trish Roberts, Carroll, Iowa; trroberts@hotmail.com

Secretary
Kathleen Law, Des Moines, Iowa; kklaw@nyemaster.com

Commissioners
Steve Berger
319-461-4109
berger@netins.net

Henry Bevel
319-232-6555
bevel@s-c-law.com

John Bloom
515-494-7458
john.bloom52@gmail.com

Christine Conover 
319-366-7641
cconover@simmonsperrine.com

Jeff Goodman  
515-267-8600
Jeff.scjnc@gmail.com

John Gray
712-255-8838
john.gray@heidmanlaw.com

Lance Horbach
641-751-8050
lance.horbach@insurecentraliowa.com

Dan Huitink
641-629-6630
huitinksjnc@gmail.com

Kathleen Law
515-283-3116
kklaw@nyemaster.com

Dorothy O’Brien
563-355-6060
dao@emprights.com

Kathy Pearson
 (c) 319-350-4604; 319-366-4451
kpearson@kaas-emp.com

Trish Roberts
 (c) 712-830-9912
trroberts@hotmail.com

Helen Sinclair
319-361-6661
hsinclair@moes.biz

Leon Spies 
319-337-4193
Spies@Spaflegal.com

Kristina Stanger 
515-283-8009
kmstanger@nyemaster.com

Steve Sukup
 (c) 515-238-6563; (w) 641-892-4222
steve@sukup.com

Janece M. Valentine 
515-955-5544
Jvalentine@Valentinelaw.net
 

© 2019 Iowa JNC. All rights reserved.