Iowa JNC

State Judicial Nominating Commission

The State Judicial Nominating Commission interviews applicants and selects nominees for appointment to the Iowa Supreme Court and the Iowa Court of Appeals.  This commission is composed of eight commissioners elected by lawyers (two from each congressional district) and nine commissioners appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Iowa Senate.  The chair is elected by the commission from its members.  All commissioners serve for a term of six years.    

Within sixty days of receiving a notice of a judicial vacancy from the governor, the commission must submit the names of nominees to the governor. The commission selects three nominees for each appointment to the supreme court and three nominees for each appointment to the court of appeals.    

Judicial Officers

  • The Iowa Constitution requires each nominee for judicial office to be:
    • A  lawyer admitted to practice law in Iowa
    • A resident of the state, district, or county to which they are nominated
    • Of an age as they can serve a full term of office before reaching age 72
  • Forms for Application for Judicial Office
  • Oath of Office


Current vacancies on the Iowa Supreme Court and Iowa Court of Appeals

© 2021 Iowa JNC. All rights reserved.